Governing Body / Academy Committee

Academy Committee of BPA Beddington Park Academy  

Name/Governor Category Term Start / End Lead

Co-opted (1) Carina Saner

01/11/20 - 30/04/24


Co-opted (2) Lloyd Jackson

09/09/20 - 08/09/26

PPG & attendance

Co-opted (3) Jackie Saddington

01/11/20 - 31/10/24


SEND & Inclusion

Co-opted (4) Laura Grayling

01/11/20 - 31/10/24

Standards & Curriculum

Elected Parent (1) Tanya Davies

10/01/12 - 09/01/27


Elected Parent (2) Rachel Muir-Nelson

01/11/21 - 31/10/25

Vice Chair,

Community Engagement

Elected Staff (1) Toni Cain



Head Teacher BPA Mazen Mukhtar




Executive Director of Primary John Halliwell



                                                                                               GIAS up to date 29/03/2024

The Beddington Park Academy Committee is made up of a wide group of people with a broad skill set who are all committed to the school’s vision and values. The Academy Committee has delegated responsibilities within a wider governance framework. We are responsible for monitoring safeguarding, the outcomes of the pupils, and engagement with parents and the wider community. We have all agreed to a Code of Conduct and work hard to fulfil our responsibilities. Our profiles below set out our backgrounds and areas of responsibility.

Carina Saner (Chair) - Carina was appointed as Chair of Governors at Beddington Park Academy in November 2020 and has also served as a Chair to another academy committee. She is committed to enabling every child to achieve their full potential and works as a management consultant with a focus on the Education sector. She was involved in setting up a charity which develops senior leaders in schools and has significant leadership development experience. Carina lives in Wandsworth and has three young children.

Jackie Saddington (Governor for Safeguarding, Vice Chair, SEND & Inclusion) – Jackie is currently employed as Head of Bi-Borough School Governor Services covering the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea as well as Westminster City Council. She has over twenty years’ experience in school governance covering all sectors. In addition to working in school governance, she is also a governor at The Rise School, a Special Free School in Feltham, which is part of the Ambitious About Autism Trust. Until 2018, she was chair of a Multi-Academy Trust, which had grown from one school to seven schools by the time she left. She has been married for thirty years and has two adult daughters. Her interests are sport, history and travel.

Rachel Muir-Nelson (Parent Governor and Community Engagement Governor) – Rachel has two children at Beddington Park. She has a psychology degree and works with children with disabilities for Sutton council.

Laura Grayling (Governor for Standards & Curriculum) - Laura became a governor at Beddington Park in November 2020 where she has a focus on Standards and Curriculum. She has a range of professional experience as a management consultant and in marketing. Laura is passionate about making sure every child has access to the best education possible for them.

Toni Cain (Staff Governor) - Toni is a class teacher at Beddington Park Academy. She is also the personal development operational lead at the Beddington Park Academy. Toni has been a teacher at Beddington Park Academy for years seven years and is passionate about improving the life chances of all children.

Lloyd Jackson (Pupil Premium Governor) - Originally from Cheshire, Lloyd trained to be a primary school teacher, with a specialism in mathematics, at the University of Roehampton from 2011-2014. He then worked at a state primary school in Ellesmere Port, Cheshire, and since May 2015 has worked at a private boys preparatory school. His roles here include being a mathematics teacher as well as Head of Year 6. In December 2020, Lloyd moved to Mitcham and has lived in the area ever since. Lloyd is also on the committee for an amateur men's football team based in Chiswick. Working within education, Lloyd has a great desire for all children to succeed and develop as people as well as through their academics.

Tanya Davies (Parent Governor) - Biography to follow

In addition, John Halliwell (Executive Headteacher) and Mazen Mukhtar (Head Teacher) sits on the Academy Committee. The Clerk to the Academy Committee is Lynn Bruce. To contact the governors, please either send a letter to the school addressed to the Chair of Governors, or email We welcome your feedback so please feel free to get in touch.